Flash Fiction 3: Lace Panties

I woke up and reached for my bag, thanking God for my ingenuity. I pulled the  fresh top over my head and walked to the dressing mirror. I look gorgeous, I know this, but a little vanity never killed anyone. I open the closet and start trying on the clothes. I’m not sure why I do this, I know every dress here. I pick up the almost full bottle of Chanel no. 5, and briefly consider switching it with the one in my bag.

I notice the huge diamond studs. I don’t have this type. They are new, I try them on and I love them. Maybe, I’ll take them with me. I notice the note on the bedside table.

Hi, I trust you can let yourself out. Leave the keys with Ama, Kwamina. The bastard.

I’m not sure why I do this anymore. It used to be fun. Lately, Kwame has been behaving funny. He didn’t give me my pair of the earrings and now the note. leave the keys? Really. I put the earrings in my bag. Maybe, I’ll sell them. Let him explain that to his wife.

I hear Ama sweeping the other room. I used to wonder what she thought about the arrangement but that was a long time ago. When I used to believe Kwame when he said he will leave his wife for me. I caught her looking at me with disdain the other time, but she quickly looked away. I guess her job is more important to her. Sometimes, when I’m feeling mischievous I scream just a little harder, just so I shock her. What I won’t give to see her reaction in those times. She probably goes down on her knees and prays for my soul.

Sule is entirely a different matter though. He flat out refuses to open the gate for me when Kwame is not around. I could have sworn I heard him hiss ashawo the other day. Kwame says i must have been hearing things. He pays him well enough not to have an opinion. He also says he can’t fire him, his wife really likes him, so I have to live with his disrespect. For now. I know how to pick my battles.

I suppose I don’t always have to come here. But the danger of being caught is too inviting. Not that Kwamina will let that happen. He’s ever so careful. That’s what made me realize he was never going to leave her for me. Her perfume of the month has to be mine too, even her lip colour. I’m glad she has such impeccable taste. It’s still a bit annoying how she can’t stick to one scent though. Just when you are getting used to one, she changes it. Who knows, next month, we will be using Vera Wang or another designer. If I am around.

The only thing we don’t have in common is lace panties. She hated them or so Kwame says. He had tried to get me to change mine but that was where I drew the line. Thinking of panties, I can’t find mine. Maybe I will leave them for her to find. I look at my reflection for the last time, maybe, I will leave a note with the panties for her to find.

1 thought on “Flash Fiction 3: Lace Panties

What do you say?